Special Articles



A Devotional Comparison of the Mass to Various Parts of Our Lord's Passion

It should help make our attendance at Mass more meaningful. The Mass, as we know, is the Renewal of Calvary's Sacrifice and not merely a memorial of the Last Supper

                     The Priest

1.        Goes to the Altar
2.        Commences Mass
3.        Says Confiteor
4.        Goes up and kisses the altar
5.        Goes to the Epistle side
6.        Reads the Introit
7.        Goes to the middle of the altar and says the Kyrie eleison
8.        Says the Dominus vobiscum
9.        Reads the Epistle
10.     Says the Munda cor meum at the middle of the altar
11.     Reads the Gospel
12.     Uncovers the chalice
13.     Offers bread and wine
14.     Covers the chalice
15.     Washes his hands
16.     Says the Orate Fratres
17.     Prays in a low voice
18.     Says the Preface and the Sanctus
19.     Makes the Memento for the living
20.     Continues to pray in a low voice
21.     Blesses the bread and wine with the sign of the cross
22.     Elevates the sacred Host
23.     Elevates the chalice
24.     Prays in a low voice
25.     Says aloud, Nobis quoque peccatoribus
26.     Says aloud the Pater noster
27.     Breaks and separates the Host
28.     Lets a small portion of the sacred Host fall into the chalice
29.     Says the Agnus Dei
30.     Administers holy Communion
31.     Cleanses the chalice
32.     Prepares the chalice again
33.     Says the Dominus vobiscum
34.     Says the last prayers
35.     Says the last Dominus vobiscum
36.     Gives the benediction to the people
37.     Says the Ita Missa est and the last gospel


1.        Goes to Mount Olivet
2.        Begins to pray
3.        Falls down and sweats blood
4.        Is betrayed by Judas with a kiss
5.        Is captured, bound, and taken to Annas
6.        Is falsely accused by Annas and blasphemed
7.        Is brought to Caiphas and there three times denied by Peter
8.        Looks at Peter and converts him
9.        Is brought to Pilate
10.     Is taken to Herod and mocked

11.     Is taken back to Pilate and again mocked
12.     Is shamefully exposed
13.     Is cruelly scourged
14.     Is crowned with thorns
15.     Is declared innocent by Pilate
16.     Is shown by Pilate to the people with the words, Ecce homo
17.     Is mocked and spit upon
18.     Is preferred instead of Barrabas and condemned to crucifixion
19.     Carries the cross to Mount Calvary
20.     Meets His Mother and other pious women
21.     Is nailed to the cross
22.     Is raised on the cross
23.     Sheds blood from the five wounds
24.     Sees His afflicted Mother at the cross
25.     Prays on the cross for men
26.     Says the seven words on the cross
27.     Gives up His spirit and dies
28.     His soul descends to Limbo
29.     Is acknowledged on the cross as the Son of God by many bystanders
30.     Is laid in the sepulchre
31.     Is anointed by pious women
32.     Arises from the dead
33.     Appears to His mother and the disciples
34.     Teaches for forty days
35.     Takes leave of His disciples and ascends to heaven
36.     Sends down the Holy Ghost
37.     Sends the apostles into all parts of the word to preach the gospel




Return to Top

Close this window to return to current Special Articles Page.